Australasian Stroke Academy 

Annual Meeting


17-19th June 2022

South Australia

Adelaide Convention Centre


For Registrations and Tickets click here



Friday June 17th 5.30-9.30pm

Welcome dinner and presentation around PFO closure and referral pathways (sponsored by Gore)

*Friday night  session is not recorded and won't be available online


Saturday June 18th 8am-5pm 

Crash course: Secondary Prevention

Neurointervention session including management of large core stroke

  • Heart-brain session including AF management and structural interventions
  • Research awards including 2022 focus: Systems of care for stroke patients in rural and remote areas of Australia and New Zealand
Sunday June 19th 8am-3pm
Crash course: Reperfusion decision making including emergency neuroimaging
Cutting edge secondary prevention
New frontiers for stroke management

Disclaimer: Please note the topics and session times are correct at the time of printing, however changes may occur. Please remember to visit the ASA Website  for regular program updates.



Early Bird discount and registrations are NOW OPEN


Hybrid on-site and on-line meeting (same price)

Early bird price $50 off (ends May 20th) 

 ASA member-Trainee $100.00
ASA member-Non Trainee $150.00
Non ASA member-Trainee $150.00
Non ASA member $200.00

Includes morning tea, afternoon tea and lunch 

For more information visit our 2022 Annual Seminar Page 


Message from the President



Dear colleagues,



Although there are other public health issues front-of-mind at the moment it’s a pleasant change to write to you about our shared health passion: Stroke.


We’ve all learned valuable lessons in maintaining excellent stroke care despite competing health care priorities in the last 18 months. I’m sure we’ll use these lessons learnt in the coming weeks to ensure our patients still achieve the best possible stroke outcomes no matter what other issues are vying for our attention and resources. I wish you well in your efforts to deliver this care.


As always, the Australasian Stroke Academy stands behind you to support your delivery of up-to-date stroke care. In 2022 we will continue to deliver stroke education seen through an Australasian lens. We have delivered recent webcasts relating to lipid management and left atrial appendage closure and are planning further webcasts in 2022. We will continue to collaborate with Industry and will also deliver ASA-only webcasts with a broad variety of topics. Send us an email to let us know what you’d like to cover!


We are also working on producing educational modules for code stroke to support basic and advanced physician trainees and hope to have these available early in 2022. 


Recently we have welcomed new members to the Australasian Stroke Academy Council. Thank you to Drs Darshan Ghia (WA), Anna Holwell (NT), Candice Delcourt (NSW) and Teddy Wu (NZ) for joining us. We look forward to adding your viewpoints to our planning and activities.


Of course our major event in 2022 will be the Annual Meeting. Please save the date in your calendars: June 18/19th 2022 at the Adelaide Convention Centre. We would love to see you all there. We are planning for a return to a predominantly on-site format and are looking forward to the rich discussion and education this format lends itself to. A provisional program will be forthcoming early in 2022.


Thank you all for your support and involvement with the ASA in 2021. We hope you have a relaxing and well-deserved break in the next few weeks (despite my opening paragraph). If you aren’t taking a break, thank you for doing your part to ensure great stroke outcomes for Australasian stroke patients. Please let your colleagues know about the ASA and encourage them to join us.


And finally, on behalf of myself and the Australasian Stroke Academy council, we wish you a happy and safe Christmas and New Year break. Take some time for yourselves and we'll see you in '22!




A/Prof Andrew Wong

ASA President

December 2021

Annual 2022 ASA research fellowship grant.


We would like to invite submissions. Please  click here for more information 


Please join the Australasian Stroke Academy

The Academy values your support and most importantly, sharing our vision. The Academy is an evolving organisation with more than 200 stroke physician members and it is keen to actively engage with our members through open dialogue and feedback. Your participation and opinion will help to shape this organization to be a professional body of which we can be proud. click here to join.




The Australasian Stroke Academy is an organization dedicated to the training, continuing education and facilitation of stroke research by Stroke Physicians or specialists doctors who have an interest in stroke. Our audience includes neurologists, internal medicine physicians, geriatricians, rehabilitation physicians general practitioners and trainee physicians of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.



Private Policy for Australia and Statement for New Zealand